Southern Districts Over 35 Men’s Champions

Southern Districts Over 35 Men’s Champions

Southern Districts has claimed the 2016 Over 35 Men’s Championship played at the Blacktown International Sportspark over the long weekend.

8 teams contested the event in a round robin format with a page system final. After the rounds 4 teams were left to play in the finals Macarthur, Southern Districts, Newcastle and Cumberland Nepean.

Southern Districts were the first into the Grand Final defeating defending champions Macarthur 5-0. Newcastle defeated Cumberland Nepean in the minor semi and moved into the preliminary final against Macarthur. The game was tight all the way through but Newcastle hung on to win 6-3.

Newcastle took the game to Southern Districts early with some impressive hitting but Southern Districts who boasted no less than 7 former NSW Open Men’s players ran out winners 11-2 to be crowned champions.


Final Placings

1st Southern Districts

2nd Newcastle

3rd Macarthur

4th Cumberland Nepean

5th Central Coast

6th Sutherland

7th Penrith City

8th Georges River