Softball NSW State League to start this weekend

Softball NSW State League to start this weekend

The first round of the 2018 State League will start on Sunday August 19 with 13 games to start the tournament.

This year’s State League will feature eight men’s teams (Demons, Dolphins, Mounties, Titans, Tropics, United and Thurabredz teams Tahi and Rua) and five women’s teams (Hills, Manly Eagles, Northern Storm, Panthers and Sharks).

It will be a strong tournament with both competitions having three different champions in the past three years. The Sharks are the defending women’s champions while the Dolphins claimed the men’s title in 2017.

The tournament will feature countless NSW and Australian representative players, including Taylah Tsitsikronis for the Panthers, Stacey McManus for the Sharks, and Tarni Stepto and Jade Wall for the Manly Eagles fresh off the women’s World Championship in Japan.

The competition will also feature four of last year’s Junior Spirit squad in the women’s competition, as well as five silver medal-winning Steelers from last years men’s World Championship and 10 of our world champion Junior Steelers.

All games in State League will be played at Blacktown International Sportspark on Sunday afternoons and will run from this week (August 19) until the finals weekend on October 28, with weeks off during State Championship tournaments.

Time Comp Diamond Home Team Away Team
9.30 am Men’s 3 Demons | Vs | Dolphins
9.30 am Men’s 4 Mounties | Vs | Thurabredz – Tahi
12 pm Women’s 1 Manly Eagles | Vs | Hills
12 pm Women’s 2 Panthers | Vs | Northern Storm
12 pm Men’s 3 United | Vs | Demons
12 pm Men’s 4 Dolphins | Vs | Mounties
2.30 pm Women’s 1 Northern Storm | Vs | Manly Eagles
2.30 pm Women’s 2 Hills | Vs | Sharks
2.30 pm Men’s 3 Titans | Vs | Tropics
2.30 pm Men’s 4 Thurabredz – Tahi | Vs | Thurabredz – Rua
5 pm Women’s 1 Sharks | Vs | Panthers
5 pm Men’s 3 Tropics | Vs | United
5 pm Men’s 4 Thurabredz – Rua | Vs | Titans