NSW win Gilleys Shield

NSW win Gilleys Shield

The NSW Firestars are the 2015 Gilleys Shield Champions after a great fightback in the final.


After a tough week with heat and injuries the Firestars made their way to the final the hard way after going down to Qld in the Major Semi and then having to face WA in the Preliminary Final but ran out winners 5 – 2.


The Qld Heat had a dream start to the final putting 2 runs on the board in the bottom of the 1st innings. NSW fought back with 2 in the top of the 3rd to bring the score to 2 all. No more runs were scored in the game until the top of the 8th where the Firestars capitalised on some uncharactistic errors from the Heat to go ahead 5 – 2. The Heat were not done yet and clawed another run back and had the wiining run the plate but pitcher Ellen Roberts held her nerve and closed out the game. Hits in the game from Tsitsikronis, Lack, Barnes and Murphy.


This is the 19th time NSW has won the Gilleys Shield.


Ellen Roberts was named the player of the final.


Individual Awards viagraoverthecounter.biz

MVP – Jade Wall (Qld)

Batting – Stacey Porter (NSW)

Pitching – Monica Perry (SA)

Rookie – Ashleigh Polzin (Qld)

Newcrest Mining Best Indigenous Player – Stacey Porter (NSW)


All Tournament Tea

Pitcher – Monica Perry (SA)

Catcher – Jodie Bowering (Qld)

1st Base – Jasmine Lee (SA)

2nd Base – Melinda Weaver (Qld)

3rd Base – Chelsea Forkin (WA)

Shortstop – Brenda De Blaes (Qld)

Outfield – Jade Wall (Qld), Leigh Godfrey (WA), Kara Murphy (NSW)

DP – Stacey Porter