NSW under-17s boys and girls are national champions

NSW under-17s boys and girls are national champions

NSW has claimed both the girls Esther Deason Shield and boys Arthur Allsopp Shield in a huge day for the Bluebloods at Blacktown International Sportspark.

Both sides won through to the final with a win over Queensland in the semi-final but the northern side bounced back to set up two State of Origin clashes in the final.

The girls were up first and claimed a 3-1 win to continue an incredible record. The side has now gone undefeated for the past three national championships, winning a fifth straight Esther Deason Shield. Pitcher Emily Peters was named the player of the final after she pitched seven innings, faceing 26 batters, eight strike outs, no walks and only one run.

The boys then followed up with an 8-2 victory over Queensland. NSW gave the Queenslanders their first loss the night before and were ready to go all the way. Vice captain and catcher Ethan Field was named the player of the final after three hits from three at bats, two RBIs and two runs of his own.

It was an incredible competition and Softball NSW wishes to thank all the participating teams for the great softball on display and a safe trip home.

2018 Girls Award Winners

Best Pitcher: Jacqueline O’Connor (QLD)

Best Batter: Sasha Willems (NSW)

Player of the Final: Emily Peters (NSW)

MVP: Gemma Hooker (WA)


2018 Girls All Tournament Team

Pitcher: Jacqueline O’Connor (QLD)

Catcher: Brooke Clappinson (WA)

1st Base: Gemma Hooker (WA)

2nd Base: Alannah Panza (VIC)

3rd Base: Tamik Turner-Hames (WA)

Short Stop: Tahlia Anderson (QLD)

Outfielders: Layhnee Kearnes (NSW), Chloe Goodfellow (VIC), Pihuka Duff (NSW)

Designated Player: Sasha Willems (NSW)


2018 Boys Award Winners

Best Pitcher: Lincoln Walk (QLD)

Best Batter: Keenan Smith (QLD)

Player of the Final: Ethan Field (NSW)

MVP: Keenan Smith (QLD)


2018 Boys All Tournament Team

Pitcher: Lincoln Walk (QLD)

Catcher: Riley James (QLD)

1st Base: Luke Readdy (QLD)

2nd Base: Riley Murphy (QLD)

3rd Base: Keenan Smith (QLD)

Short Stop: Kynan Molander (QLD)

Outfielders: Lachlan Ives (ACT), William Thomas (ACT), Joshua Routledge (QLD)

Designated Player: Jeremy Garland (NSW)