Manly-Warringah complete open women’s State Championships three-peat

Manly-Warringah complete open women’s State Championships three-peat

Manly-Warringah have won the Softball NSW open women’s State Championship in Newcastle – it’s third straight title in  the competition.

It continues a great run of dominance for Manly with four of the past five titles and five championships since 2011.

Despite the win, Manly didn’t have it all their own way, finishing second after the first two days in an incredibly tight round robin competition.

The side lost to Cumberland Nepean, who finished first after the round robin portion of the tournament and drew with North Shore – its traditional rivals in recent year – who finished fourth.

But in the semi-finals, Manly were ready, defeating Cumberland 8-0 to go straight through to the final where they faced Sutherland, winning the final 3-0 to cap a fantastic weekend.

The round robin competition was incredibly tight with Cumberland Nepean coming out on top while Penrith City were unlucky in fifth, finishing on equal points with North Shore but conceding more runs to miss out on the playoffs.

The placements came down to the last round with Cumberland Nepean sealing the minor premiership by defeating Sutherland 3-1 and pushing them to third.

Manly sealed second with a massive 26-3 win over Campbelltown and North Shore got past Newcastle 12-8 to book its finals positions.

Sutherland performed well after a two year break from the tournament, winning through to the final with a 10-7 win over North Shore and an 8-0 win over Cumberland Nepean but Manly proved too strong in the final.

Player awards

  • MVP: Rachel Lack (North Shore)
  • Best Pitcher: Georgia Barton (Penrith City)
  • Best Batter: Grace Wrixon (Newcastle)

Final Placings

  • 1. Manly Warringah
  • 2. Sutherland
  • 3. Cumberland Nepean
  • 4. North Shore
  • 5. Penrith City
  • 6. Newcastle
  • 7. Georges River
  • 8. Campbelltown