Macarthur take out the 2019 Men’s State Championship

Macarthur take out the 2019 Men’s State Championship

The 2019 Open Men’s State Championship didn’t disappoint with the level of play very high and all 7 teams in contention for the title of State Champions.

It came down to the last round to confirm who would face Macarthur in the final with Macarthur going into the Grand Final first after only dropping one game to Hornsby during the rounds.

Georges River had to beat Newcastle whilst teams in the other important game Cumberland Nepean v Hornsby were hoping for a Newcastle win which would then give the winning team of that game a chance to make it through dependant on runs against. Georges River convincingly beat Newcastle whilst Cumberland Nepean and Hornsby finished in a draw.

Georges River got off to a good start scoring 1 in the top of the 1st then another in the top of the 2nd. Macarthur replied with 2 in the bottom with a single to Boston Lowe followed by a Homerun to Lachlan Smith. James Todhunter put one over in the bottom of the 3rd and together with some hits and wild pitches took the score to 6 – 2 coming into the top of the 4th.

Sean Elliott kept the Georges River hopes alive with a massive homerun narrowing the difference to 3 however Macarthur were not finished with another 3 runs added in the bottom of the 4th. Georges River could not score any runs in the 5th and it was a Homerun to Wade Passfield with 2 runners on which saw the game end in 5 innings 12 runs to 3 and Macarthur take the title which they last won in 2015.

Congratulations to umpires Claire Austring (Plate), Leanne Gearside (1st Base), Jess Rooke (2nd Base) and Andy Birks (3rd Base) on their appointment to the Grand Final.

Congratulations to Statisticians Rowena Whittle and Karren Plain on their appointment to the Grand Final.

Thank you to the great volunteers from the Newcastle & District Softball Association who did a great job hosting the event.

FINAL PLACINGS                                                  

1st   Macarthur                     

2nd Georges River

3rd Cumberland Nepean

4th Hornsby

5th Penrith City

6th Southern Districts

7th Newcastle

INDIVIDUAL AWARDS:                             

MVP – Hayden Mathews (Hornsby)

Batting – Callum Beashel (Georges River)

Pitching Award – Harri Peters (Macarthur)