Macarthur go back-to-back in under-15 boys State Championships

Macarthur go back-to-back in under-15 boys State Championships

Macarthur were untouchable in an incredible weekend of under-15 boys State Championships softball at Blacktown International Sportspark over the weekend.

In it four round robin matches, Macarthur thumped 78 runs to just two against as it dominated its way through the competition.

While Penrith City, who finished the top of group B, were able to score nine runs across the semi-final and grand final clashes, as well as holding Macarthur to their two lowest scores in the 14-7 semi-final game and 15-2 in the grand final. However, it meant Macarthur smashed a further 29 runs for a record of 107 runs for and 11 against across the tournament.

It was an incredible performance from Macarthur who won in 2017 as well, while Penrith City bounced back from an eighth placed finish in 2017 to finish runners up.

Macarthur have been very successful in recent years, having finished as runners up in 2015 and 2016 before claiming the 2017 and 2018 titles.

Riley Sutcliffe was awarded Macarthur’s MVP award, which was voted by teammates and coaches.

He said it was an “extra special” win to go back-to-back.

“It feels good. It’s hard to explain. It’s good winning,” Riley said. “It felt good working as a team together. We really came together after all the training. It was good to put it into play after weeks of training.”

Macarthur head coach Alex Cooper said he was extremely proud of the performance, especially from the younger players on the team.

“I’m extremely proud. They were very good all weekend, were undefeated, scored over 100 runs and let in about 10 and it was just an awesome effort from everyone. Everyone fielded, everyone batted and everyone did an awesome job, they played very well,” he said.

“We had three returners and about five or six top age players. The youngest player was 11 but you wouldn’t pick it from his actual performance. He came on in the final and had one of the biggest hits of the final and fielded awesome. All the younger players were great and I think we’re going to have five or six returners next year that are all younger and hopefully we can keep it going, it’s exciting.”

MVP Awards (as voted by teammates and officials)

  • Campbelltown: Bodhi Lillyman
  • Cumberland Nepean: Cooper Rauhihi
  • Georges River: Matt Cooper
  • Macarthur: Riley Sutcliffe
  • Newcastle: Makye Telfer
  • Orange: Ky Hurst
  • Penrith City: Oscar Atkins
  • Southern Districts: Deontay Fasavalu
  • Sutherland: Kadyn Judd

Final Rankings

  • 1. Macarthur
  • 2. Penrith City
  • 3. Newcastle
  • 4. Orange
  • 5. Cumberland Nepean
  • 6. Georges River
  • 7. Sutherland
  • 8. Southern Districts
  • 9. Campbelltown