2019 State League Champions Crowned

2019 State League Champions Crowned

After 3 months of competition the Manly Eagles and Tropics have come out on top and taken the State League Titles for 2019.

Tropics went into the finals as one of the favourites after finishing on top of the table and took on Dolphins in the major semi final. A come from behind win saw Tropics take the game 9 runs to 4 and move straight into the grand final whilst on diamond 4 United showed their class with a 14 – 1 win over Mounties.

In the preliminary final United proved to strong with an 11 – 6 win over Dolphins. This set up a grand final between Tropics and United. Tropics got off to a great start in the final with 2 runs in the bottom of the first innings and then was never headed winning 6 – 1.

Final Placings

1st Tropics

2nd United

3rd Dolphins

4th Mounties

5th Thurabredz

6th Titans

7th Demons

Men’s Award Winners

Rookie Award: Jack Besgrove (Tropics) 46 innings pitched ERA 2.283 BA .222

Batting Award: Lachlan Smith (Dolphins) Bat Ave .514, OBA .682, RBI 22

Pitching Award: Brad Kilpatrick (Dolphins) ERA 1.094

MVP Award: Shaun Lanaghan (Dolphins) Bat Ave .412, OBA .524, ERA 2.897

The women’s final day started with 6 teams still in contention but that came down to 4 after wins to Panthers and Sweet Heat knocking out Northern Storm and Norwest Wolves. Manly Eagles and Sharks went head to head for a place in the final and in an exciting game Manly snuck home winning 5 – 4. In another exciting game Panthers kept their hopes alive by nudging out Sweet Heat 3 – 2 to move through to face Sharks in the game that would decide who Manly would play in the final. Panthers put up a brave fight but were defeated 11 – 4 to finish 3rd for the season.

Both teams in the final had Aussie Spirit players who were keen to show their skills and they didn’t disappoint but it was Manly Eagles who shone out on the day and took the title 6 runs to 1.

Final Placings

1st Manly Eagles

2nd Sharks

3rd Panthers

4th Sweet Heat

= 5th Northern Storm & Norwest Wolves

= 7th Phoenix & Hills

Award Winners

Rookie Award: Charli Orsini (Sweet Heat) 45 innings pitched ERA 2.63

Batting Award: Shannon Keevers (Sharks) Bat Ave .679 On Base Ave .750

Pitching Award: Chantelle Ladner (Norwest Wolves) ERA 0.45

MVP Award: Kim Wright (Panthers) Bat Ave .548, OBA .763, RBI 13

Keep up to date with all the latest news and information from State League:

Website – Softball NSW

Facebook – www.facebook.com/SoftballNSW1/

Twitter – www.twitter.com/softballnsw

Instagram – www.instagram.com/softball_nsw

For further information on this event please contact; Operations & Events Manager-Cathy Kerr via operations@softballnsw.org.au